SHHS Critic Cup 2016

SHHS Critic Cup 2016
Posted on 06/07/2016

SHHS held its annual Senior Awards Ceremony on Thursday, June 2, 2016 where graduating seniors were given scholarships and school awards.  This year’s Critic Cup winner was Abigail Hendrix.  SHHS teachers can nominate up to 3 students for the prestigious award naming the best all-around student of the present school year.  The award is based on scholarship – 60%; character, personality, participation in school activities and service to the high school – 40%.  Students then provide information about themselves and staff then votes for the winner.   

Abigail is the 91st winner of the award.  The first Critic Cup was awarded in 1925 to Harriet Hosking.  Since then, many Critic Cup winners have gone on to have very successful careers in medicine, law, politics, and education.  Some have even become mayors of South Haven!

Some other winners include:

  • Kermit Jones, Class of 1993:  Jones went on to graduate from Duke University and Columbia University, earning both a law degree and a medical degree.  He also worked for the Secretary of Health & Human Services in the White House, and was also a flight surgeon for a tour in Afghanistan.
  • Zachary Liscow, Class of 2001:  Liscow graduated from Harvard University and is now an economic advisor to President Obama.
  • The Critic Cup is also known to run in families!  Some winners include:  Laura Dubuisson (1977) and her daughter Amanda Hayward (2007); and brothers Griffin Graham (2012) and Mitchell Graham (2013).
Up One Level
Critic Cups
Uploaded: 07 June, 2016
by: cpyle

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.